X Error of Failed Request : BadAtom

I was using several Unix programs through Mac OS X’s X11, and I was experiencing several crashes (emacs when trying to resize sub-windows, nedit when trying copy/paste, even matlab was spewing error messages) with an error of the type

X Error of Failed Request : BadAtom

After fiddling a while, it appears this is due to a modification of ssh which does not accept trusted X11 cookies anymore. I added

ForwardX11Trusted yes

in the local .ssh/config, and crahes begone ! Joy.

This entry was posted in Mac. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to X Error of Failed Request : BadAtom

  1. Joel says:

    Thank god for you, you made matlab work.

  2. vnoel says:

    Glad I could help 🙂

  3. Emily says:

    Yay! Not the sort of thing I would ever have figured out on my own, but SO useful. 🙂

  4. Fan says:

    Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

  5. Seth says:

    You rock — this fixed my problem. Why do these error messages have to suck so bad. BTW, how did you root cause this????

  6. daily bungle says:

    i think ssh -Y also works i just tried.

  7. Pingback: indefinite hiatus | Bloody Fingers

Comments are closed.