Mplayer CVS on Mac OSX

Like every other Mac user, I’ve been watching a lot of videos using MplayerOSX (in addition to VLC and the vanilla, standard-but-nice Quicktime player). However this player has not been updated in a while (ie may 2005) and I was wondering if some troubles I had could not be fixed by using a more up-to-date version.
By diggin a little, I found these CVS builds of the very latest Mplayer (the real deal, not the MplayerOSX repackaging). I’m gonna take a look into this and see if it’s worth the effort🙂

Update (I should wait a little longer before posting…): if nothing else, the CVS version has a much nicer interface:
Battlestar Galactica in MPlayer CVS MacOS X
…and also nice transitions when resizing the window, switching to fullscreen, opening and closing movies, etc (very mac-like). And, and, and, it doesn’t launch the video in a separate application! OMFG joy.

This entry was posted in Apple, Computer, Mac, screenshot, Software and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mplayer CVS on Mac OSX

  1. Tim says:

    Thanks for the blog. I didn’t realize that Mplayer on OS X had come so far in the last year. I used the OS X port a while back and it was pretty clunky. This new one is very slick. It might replace VLC on my Mac.

Leave a Reply

